of the


Board of Directors Meeting

Monday, January 3, 2005, 7:30 p.m.


The Board of Directors of Kutztown Area School District met for the workshop board meeting on Monday,  January 3, 2005, 7:30 p.m., at the Albany Elementary School pursuant to due notice to board members  and the public.


Present           Patricia Bealer, Kay Churchman, Kent Dahlquist, Dale Reppert, Dennis Ritter, Don Vymazal, William Yurvati, Carl Ziegler, Tyler Loeb-Student Representative, Krystal Loy-Alternate Student Representative


Absent             James Kramer


Also                 Dr. Brenda A. Winkler-Superintendent, Joe Pugliese-Board Treasurer, Gretchen Diehl-

Present           Board Secretary, Nick Lazo, Eric Erb, Lorraine Felker, Matt Smith, Celeste Brown, Michele Fragnito, Rita Schwalm, Mike Trask-Reading Eagle


Call to Order   The meeting was called to order at 9:12 p.m. by President Vymazal


Welcome         President Vymazal welcomed guests and opened the meeting with a moment of silence and Pledge of Allegiance to the flag.  He asked that everyone sign the attendance book and mark their concern next to their name.  He requested that anyone wishing to speak on an agenda item please raise his/her hand to be recognized. This meeting was tape-recorded.


Personnel       Motion made by Kent Dahlquist, seconded by Dennis Ritter, to approve the following  

personnel items:

1.     Ratification of Beth Pennebacker as full-time secondary social studies teacher effective January 3, 2005 at a salary of $35,306 as per Master�s Column, Step 1 (non-tenured) of the KASD/KATA contract.

2.     Acceptance of the resignation, due to retirement, of Daniel Reist, custodian, effective January 7, 2005.

3.     Permission to hire an elementary teacher to fill a vacancy with approval at a future board meeting.

4.     Approval to change the end date of Karen Austin�s child rearing leave from June 1, 2005 to the end of school year 2004-2005.

Roll call vote:    Yes  8        No  0        Absent  1 (Kramer)

                        Motion carried.


All Personnel Are Approved Pending the District�s Receipt of All Mandated Credentials.


Discussion Items        Act 72


                                    School Board Recognition Month


Executive        Motion made by Kent Dahlquist, seconded by Patricia Bealer, to enter into an executive

Session           session to discuss legal matters at 9:45 p.m.

Motion carried unanimously.


Mr. Reppert left at 9:45 p.m.


The Board reconvened at 10:25 p.m.






Student            Motion made by Patricia Bealer, seconded by Dennis Ritter, to approve the proposed
Expulsion        adjudication regarding student number 103010 thereby excluding the student in accordance therewith.
Roll call vote:   Yes  6        No  1 (Dahlquist)        Absent  2 (Kramer, Reppert)
                        Motion carried.


Adjournment   Motion made by Dennis Ritter, seconded by Patricia Bealer, to adjourn the meeting at

                        10:26 p.m.

            Motion carried unanimously.


                                                                             Respectfully submitted by,



                                                                             Gretchen A. Diehl

                                                                             School Board Secretary