of the

                                                KUTZTOWN AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

Board of Directors Meeting

Monday, December 3 2007, 7:30 p.m.


The Board of Directors of Kutztown Area School District met for the workshop board meeting on Monday, December 3, 2007, 7:30 p.m., in the commons of the Greenwich Elementary School pursuant to due notice to board members and the public.


Present           Pat Bealer, Jasper Ho, Harry McGonigle, Dennis Ritter, Dan Walter, Jo Stevens,

                        Carl Ziegler, Don Vymazal, Al Darion




Also Present   Brenda Winkler, Joseph Pugliese, Rikki Clark, Nick Lazo, Lu Palmer, Lorraine

                        Felker, Jennifer McAteer, James Brown, James Orwig, Peter Miller, Tom Green,

Barbara Richard, Leroy Merkel, Mick OÕNeil, John Noll, Kay Fritz, Vickie Stump, Charlene Sheetz, Ros Fenerty, Josh Chambers, Joann Buffum, Rebecca Ziegler, Ann Dietrich, Karl Nolte, Donna Keglovits, Nancy Bucci, Bonnie Treadway, Pam McMullin-Messier, Randy Burch, Kurt Kanaskie, Kerri Schegan, Renee Mantz, Cindy Fisher, Craig Kardohely, Joan Dietrich, Krista Keim, Melissa Blatt, Leslee Saylor, Rita Schwalm


Call to Order   The meeting was called to order at 7:40 p.m. by President Vymazal.


Welcome         President Vymazal welcomed guests and opened the meeting with a moment of

silence and Pledge of Allegiance to the flag.  He asked that everyone sign the attendance book and mark their concern next to their name.  He requested that anyone wishing to speak on an agenda item please raise his/her hand to be recognized.  This meeting was tape-recorded.


Executive        Motion made by Pat Bealer, seconded by Dan Walter, to adjourn for an executive

Session           session to discuss personnel matters at 8:45 p.m.       

                        Motion carried unanimously.


                        Board reconvened at 9:20 p.m.


Personnel       Motion made by Dennis Ritter, seconded by Al Darion, to approve the following personnel items:       

1.     Resignation of Thomas Smith as Technology Specialist, effective December 5, 2007.

2.     Resignation of Kristine Siefert as a substitute aide, effective November 16, 2007.

3.     Approval of Zach Bowers as a volunteer golf coach for School Year 2007-2008.  (Correction from Zach Boyer being previously approved on August 20, 2007.)

4.     Approval of Megan Shade as a substitute teacher for School Year 2007-2008, at the current substitute rate of $96 per day for days 1-20 and $107 per day beginning on day 21.

5.     Approval of Steve Fritz as Technology Specialist, effective December 6, 2007, at a salary of $32,000.

6.     Approval of Jennifer McAteer as Assistant High School Principal effective January 2, 2008, at a salary of $71,000.

7.     Approval of the Musical salaries for the returning staff with a 2.5% increase for School Year 2007-2008 over the 2006-2007 salaries.

2.5% Increase Original

Director                                                Robert Williams             $2402              $2343

Vocal Director                           Bryan Hartman             $1745              $1702

Orchestra Director                    Douglas Matz               $1011              $986

Costumes                                 Jennifer Juntunen        $622                $607

Scenery Construction               Barbara Bleiler             $388                $377

Scenery Painting                      Barbara Bleiler             $388                $377

8.     Resignation of Jean Werley as a Special Education learning support aide, effective December 15,


Roll call vote:              Yes  9              No  0                Absent  0

Motion carried.


Motion made by Carl Ziegler, seconded by Dan Walter, to approve permission to hire a replacement Special Education learning support aide.

Roll call vote:              Yes  8              No  1 (Walter)  Absent  0

            All Personnel Are Approved Pending the DistrictÕs Receipt of All Mandated Credentials.


Student            Motion made by Pat Bealer, seconded by Dan Walter, to approve the first reading of the

Activity            Kutztown Area School District Student Activity Guidelines.


            Roll call vote:              Yes  9              No  0                Absent  0

                        Motion carried.


Assessment    Motion made by Dennis Ritter, seconded by Pat Bealer, to approve John M. Stott, Esq.

Appeal             as intervener on behalf of the Kutztown Area School District in any assessment appeal

Intervener       litigations.

Roll call vote:              Yes  9              No  0                Absent  0

            Motion carried.


Adjournment   Motion made by Pat Bealer, seconded by Dennis Ritter, to adjourn the

meeting at 9:35 p.m.

Motion carried unanimously.



                                                                                                            Respectfully submitted by,



                                                                                                            Rikki L. Clark

                                                                                                            School Board Secretary