����������������������� ����� Minutes

of the

����������������������������������������������������������������������������� ����� ������� KUTZTOWN AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

Board of Directors Meeting

Monday, June 2, 2008, 7:30 p.m.


The Board of Directors of Kutztown Area School District met for the workshop board meeting on Monday, May 5, 2008, 7:30 p.m., in the High School Library pursuant to due notice to board members and the public.


Present ����������� Jasper Ho, Harry McGonigle, Dennis Ritter, Dan Walter, Jo Stevens,

����������������������� Carl Ziegler, Al Darion, Don Vymazal, Pat Bealer




Also Present���� Brenda Winkler, Joseph Pugliese, Rikki Clark, Lorraine Felker, Peter Miller, Nick Lazo,

Barbara Richard, Leroy Merkel, Jennifer McAteer, Mary Paterno, Andrea Sanders, Donna Keglovits, Dan Hinkel, Lois Hinkel, Fay Rothenberger, Melissa Blatt, Josh Chambers, Melissa Ziegler, Joan Haring, Hallie Schumacher, kay Fritz, Jody Baxlley, Heather Mengel, Bob Freed, Danielle Berger, Shelby Brett, Beth Stump


Call to Order �� The meeting was called to order at 7:31 p.m. by President Vymazal.


Welcome��������� President Vymazal welcomed guests and opened the meeting with a moment of

silence and Pledge of Allegiance to the flag. He asked that everyone sign the attendance book and mark their concern next to their name. He requested that anyone wishing to speak on an agenda item please raise his/her hand to be recognized. This meeting was being tape-recorded.


Personnel Motion made by Pat Bealer, seconded by Dennis Ritter, to approve the following personnel items:

1.       Resignation of Marc Strackbein as High School physics teacher, effective June 9, 2008.

2.       Resignation of Dorothy Bailey as Middle School cafeteria aide, effective June 6, 2008.

3.       Approval of Justin Detweiler as a long-term substitute for High School business, for School Year 2008-2009, effective on or before August 21, 2008 at a rate of $96.00 per day for days 1-20, $107.00 per day for days 21-45 and the balance at Bachelors Degree, Step 1, for non-tenured teachers per the KASD/KATA contract.

4.       Approval of Matthew Link as Director of Special Education, effective June 25, 2008.

5.       Approval of changes in the Extended School Year employee hours:

a.       Reduce number of hours for Beth Hartz from 84 to 56 total hours at the approved teacher hourly curriculum rate.

b.       Addition of Heather Oppmann for 28 total hours at the approved teacher hourly curriculum rate.

6.       Approval of the following substitute teachers for School Year 2007-2008 at the approved substitute teacher rate of $96.00 for days 1-21 and $107 for days 21-45, effective June 2, 2008.

April Lenhart Albright College Guest Teacher

Lora Shuliga Penn State Guest Teacher

Dorothy Haring Fort Laureldale College Guest Teacher

Laura Ellis Kutztown University Citizenship/History

Mallory Stahl University of Scranton Mathematics

Roll call vote: Yes 9 No 0 Absent 0

Motion carried.

All Personnel Are Approved Pending the Districts Receipt of All Mandated Credentials.


08-09 Motion made by Pat Bealer, seconded by Carl Ziegler, to approve the increase of lunch

Lunch prices beginning School Year 2008-2009 as follows:

Prices Elementary students from $1.90 to $2.00, an increase of $.10

Secondary students from $2.00/$2.25 to $2.25/$2.50, an increase of $.25

Adult lunches from $3.50 to $3.75, an increase of $.25

Roll call vote: Yes 9 No 0 Absent 0

Motion carried.

Cargo Box Motion made by Pat Bealer, seconded by Dennis Ritter, to accept the bid for a 2008 Ford

Truck Bid E-350 cargo van from Brian Hoskins Ford, 2601 E. Lincoln Highway, Coatesville, PA

19320. The bid price is $19,850, which reflects a $7000 trade in value for our current vehicle, a 2000 Chevy 3500 cube van. The cargo van will be used for the food service department. The bid opening results are per attached list.

Roll call vote: Yes 9 No 0 Absent 0

Motion carried.


Kutztown Motion made by Dennis Ritter, seconded by Pat Bealer, to approve the agreement

Manor between the Kutztown Area School District and Kutztown Manor, per the attached

Agreement agreement.

Roll call vote: Yes 9 No 0 Absent 0

Motion carried.


Copier Lease Motion made by Al Darion, seconded by Harry McGonigle, to approve a 48-month copier

Agreement lease agreement effective July 1, 2008 with Edwards Business Systems to replace two copiers as described in Option B of the attached schedule including maintenance at a monthly cost of $1,010. This is a savings of $246.52 per month when compared with the existing agreement. The pricing is based on the Association of Educational Purchasing Agencies contract number A5C7833XP, which is lower than the state COSTARS program.

Roll call vote: Yes 9 No 0 Absent 0

Motion carried.


Discussion Proposed High School Graduation Competency Assessments

Items Requests for Multiple Bus Stops

High School Renovation Project


High School Motion made by Carl Ziegler, seconded by Dennis Ritter, to authorize AEM to go through

Renovation the Plan Con process.

Roll call vote: Yes 7 No 2 (Bealer, Ho) Absent 0

Motion carried.


Public Bob Freed, Hallie Schumacher, Heather Mengel, and Melissa Ziegler expressed their

Comment concerns regarding the possible loss of a sixth grade teacher.


Lorraine Felker commented that the Awards Ceremony on May 28th was a success. Over $63,000 worth of awards and scholarships were presented.


Adjournment Motion made by Pat Bealer, seconded by Jasper Ho, to adjourn the meeting at 9:40 p.m.

Motion carried unanimously.


Respectfully submitted by,


Rikki L. Clark

School Board Secretary